More fun on The Smooth Jazz Cruise 2014, or, “I’m getting my photo with Boney”

Posted on Updated on

On the day of the T-shirt party, I typically go on deck to relax, and save a table. This invariably means I miss Gospel Show. Yes, I missed “Jonathan Butler presents The Gospel Show”. Bummed. We had a table, though, amidst the sea of people. It was windy in the middle of the deck, but Mindi Abair was playing it!!

Can’t find any video of my dancing in a Conga line around the pool. Funniest part was when Brian Culbertson was taking photos with us, then could not leave the area. He was being mobbed. No, not by Estella.

Brian Culbertson and Estella
Brian Culbertson and Estella

I offered to take him through the crowd, and he accepted. I was literally pulling him through, saying loudly, “Brian, we need to get you to this meeting as soon as possible!” Brian’s just shrugging it off, as I’m pulling. Finally we get to some clear space, so I let him go, and go back to my table. I look up a minute later, and he had not moved from where I left him! I thought he was going to keep moving, but he was stuck again. LOL!

After the T-shirt party, I headed up to the Crow’s Nest to a Game Show called “Celebrity Heads”, featuring Alonzo Bodden, Candy Dulfer and Boney James.

Boney James, Candy Dulfer and Alonzo Bodden
Boney James, Candy Dulfer and Alonzo Bodden

As I walked through the door, I saw Boney talking with someone. I stood next to him. He turned around and said “Hi, Lory, right?” I said yes, and complimented him on his gig in London in a couple of months. He thanked me, and I continued about how excited my friend Len was that he would be in London, and hoping that Len would be up front…(hint, hint). Boney said he was excited to be going there, then asked me if I knew how this game was played. I told him that I had no idea, and then excused myself to sit and watch the show. The premise was the panelists had to ask questions, which we the audience yelled “Yes” or “No” to for clues to the identities. Crew members were walking around with the names. The 3 answers were “Miss Piggy”, “Donald Trump” and “Jonathan Butler”. It was crazy! After this was over, there was a Ping-Pong Tournament with Brian Culbertson, and Boney.

Ping-Pong Tournament Photo: Chris Gibbons
Ping-Pong Tournament
Photo: Chris Gibbons

As they were organizing the competitors, I noticed Boney had some free time. I went over to him again, talked to him about what a great newsletter his Facebook Fan Page administrator, Carole Bo had made, (he agreed that it was great!) and asked him for a photo. Ta Daaa!

Me with Boney James
Me with Boney James

While we were seated watching the matches, we were talking about the matches with Sheila E and cheering on a young girl who was playing. We were trying to get Sheila E matched up with Brian Culbertson. Someone had brought up trash talking while Boney was starting a match. I said aloud that I could not ever imagine Boney talking mess.  Sheila E corrected me, saying, “but you don’t really know Boney.” I stood corrected, and told her, “Girl, you are right about that!”  During this entire conversation, Chris had no idea it was Sheila E that we were talking to!

Chris and I made it up to Silk Den, to have Candy Apple Cocktails with Candy Dulfer. Beautiful restaurant! Candy looked great, and I was the official photographer for Chris at this venue!

Chris with Candy
Chris with Candy

The evening’s show was Keiko Matsui and Marcus Miller. Maaaaarrrrrrcus!!! We missed some of Keiko while we ran to our cabin to change, but watched it our t.v. Marcus was off the chain, as is usual. He didn’t play my song “Detroit”, unfortunately, but no matter, he JAMMED!!!

Marcus Miller from my t.v. during the 2nd show
Marcus Miller from my t.v.  with Kirk Whalum during the 2nd show

I watched the second Marcus show from the cabin, while I rested, getting ready for the “Pa-Jam-A Party”. What a party it WAS!
IMG_2747 IMG_2748

Jonathan Butler jamming with DW3
Jonathan Butler jamming with DW3
Brian Culbertson and Me
Brian Culbertson and Me

IMG_2752

Chris and Christian
Chris and Christian
Christian and Me
Christian and Me

IMG_2754_pp

Afterwards, we met up to drink Champagne with Peter.

Peter and Champagne
Peter and Champagne-Jeffrey Osborne in the white t-shirt behind!
NO! No lemons in Champagne!!
NO! No lemons in Champagne!!
Gerey Johnson impressing Rita with his witticisms
Gerey Johnson impressing Rita with his witticisms
Having Fun! Photo by Gerey Johnson
Having Fun!
Photo by Gerey Johnson

It was a long, yet awesome day, and 5 more to go! Pacing myself….

Passionately Yours,

LoryG

Leave a Reply

