Grand Turk and San Juan on the Smooth Jazz Cruise

Posted on Updated on

Entrance to Grand Turk Photo: Chris Gibbons
Entrance to Grand Turk
Photo: Chris Gibbons
1234614_10202175750488671_2113932405_n
Best Margarita that I had ever had!
Close up
Margarita with a Tequila float-Photo by Chris Gibbons
Sheryl, Chris and I hitting the surf
Sheryl, Chris and I hitting the surf
This is living!
This is living!

Back on the ship, the evening’s entertainment was Kirk Whalum and Jonathan Butler. Per usual, both shows moved me to tears Kirk talking about the love for his wife and family, Jonathan starting his show with a tribute to Nelson Mandela. It was amazing and moving. After the show, I had the intention to go rest and then see Chance’s Boom Boom Room with Chance Howard and DW3, and go to International Night at 11:45 p.m., but the resting got too good to me! Didn’t wake up! Sorry that I missed this, especially Peter White in Candy Dulfer’s Wooden Shoes!

International Night on the Smooth Jazz Cruise-from Peter White's collection
International Night on the Smooth Jazz Cruise-from Peter White’s Collection

The next morning I was up at 5:30 a.m. It was peaceful watching the sun come up on the ocean, I got a Chai Tea from the Explorations Cafe, and walked around the ship peacefully. Later was the autograph session. I usually don’t have my poster signed, but I had brought a copy of Smooth Jazz News with Kirk Whalum on the cover, that I wanted to frame. Since I brought it all the way from Arizona, I stood in line to have Kirk sign it. I was in line with Markus, Christian and Sascha, so it was a fun wait. When we got inside the Crow’s Nest, I noticed that David Sanborn was seated next to Peter White. Since you were only allowed to ask for one thing to be signed, I asked Kirk to sign the magazine, and forego the poster. When I got to David Sanborn, I reminded him of the time I met him in Tucson, and he asked me why I wasn’t going to be on that year’s Smooth Jazz Cruise. I told him it was because Peter White wasn’t on it! So this year, Peter was on, and I was too!

There was a “Latino Sail Into San Juan Party” with DW3. Listening to Latin tunes and pulling into beautiful San Juan was magical

DW3!
DW3!
Pulling into San Juan, Puerto Rico
Pulling into San Juan, Puerto Rico
El Morro Fort from the ship
El Morro Fort from the ship
Chris and Rita
Chris and Rita
Lovely Rita!
Lovely Rita!
Jonathan Butler
Jonathan Butler

No matter where you are, you can’t get away from those “Blurred Lines”….

 

We took a private tour of San Juan with an Architectural Guide, and it was lovely–
IMG_2795IMG_2785IMG_2789

One of the finest hotels in Old San Juan
One of the finest hotels in Old San Juan
Hey, I know that man! Peter White!
Hey, I know that man! Peter White!
At El Morro Fort
A shot of PW at El Morro Fort-couldn’t resist!
A Cannon at El Morro
A Cannon at El Morro
Great view of the Puerto Rican coastline from El Morro Fort
Great view of the Puerto Rican coastline from El Morro Fort

I left the tour a bit early with some others, so that I could make it back to catch Boney James’ show. Tonight was Sheila E and Boney James. Ā I watched Sheila E’s show from the cabin while changing and getting ready. Made it in time for Boney’s show. It was great! When he played “Ride” at the end, I felt compelled to get up and dance in the aisle. Alone. I didn’t care. The spotlight came over to me for a quick instant, which was somewhat embarrassing, but I had to move to the groove!
After the show, I had BBQ under the Stars, at a table overlooking San Juan at night with a Full Moon above. It was breathtaking. I had a glass of wine, and just took it all in.
The ship left San Juan at 10:00 p.m., on its way to St. Maarten. But this was Ladies Night Concert on the Lido Deck at 11:00 p.m. Party on!

Mindi Abair and Candy Dulfer onstage!
Mindi Abair and Candy Dulfer onstage!
Me with Lynn Briggs!
Me with Lynn Briggs!

1617276_10201367997948297_1751524722_o 1492115_10201367997308281_346285830_o

Sandwich time!
Sandwich time!

We actually made it to the Night Music show hosted by David Sanborn, with Marcus Miller and Keb Mo at 11:45 p.m. It was a great show. I tried to get photos, but got nervous, when someone behind me started clearing their throat, like I shouldn’t take photos…

David Sanborn
David Sanborn
Marcus Miller
Marcus Miller

We ended the evening with a meet up with Peter White, and I thought it would be a good time to get a good photo with him!
IMG_2835_pp

Peter White and Me!
Peter White and Me!
Peter with Estella!
Peter with Estella!

An action packed and wonderful day, but it was definitely time for rest, as we were going sailing on a Catamaran the next day in St. Maarten!

Passionately Yours,

LoryG

One thought on “Grand Turk and San Juan on the Smooth Jazz Cruise

    Kwissi said:
    February 2, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    How did I miss the Blurred Line Dance??

Leave a comment